Breakfast on the Go and Taking Dinner Slow

Ah here we are, the middle of the week, for me this is when the exhaustion hits me square in the face.  I don’t want to do anything, I just want to lay around, watch Live with Kelly, and binge watch whatever netflix show I choose.  So, confession, Wednesdays at our house are always frozen pizza.  There is no shame in my frozen pizza game…oh yeah except last week…
Picture

It’s cool though, I had some back up mini-corndogs and party pizzas, so my kids didn’t starve.

So basketball practice night my husband was all set up to take the two big kids to practice and I was going to stay home…and catch up on laundry (don’t be jealous, I know I’m a lucky woman) But my daughter begged me to come watch her at practice, so we all loaded up and headed to the church.
I’m not going to lie, watching kindergarden kids practice basketball is pretty entertaining…and the fact that their coach is nearly seven feet tall just adds to the visual of these kids.

PictureBest seat in the house

I already had dinner in the crockpot, so as soon as we got home some hungry kids scarfed it down.  Now, before I share this recipe with you I will admit, this was supossed to be soup.  It became not-soup, but oh my it was still good!  So my Pinterest fail turned into a Pinterest win!
So when you see the ingredient list do not panic, remember our theme this week is still weeknight and easy, this is a mix and dump recipe for sure.

Crockpot Three Cheese Tortillini 
Ingredients
1/4 cup basil
1 medium carrot diced
1 tsp garlic powder
14 oz can of tomatoes
1/2 white onion diced
5 cups of chicken stock
1 jar of spaghetti sauce
Refridgerated three cheese tortellini
salt
pepper
1 tbs olive oil
3/4 cup half and half
1/2 cup milk
Picture

In a large pot pour your olive oil in and add your carrots and onion and sautee until the onion is transluscent
Add the basil, chicken stock, milk, half and half, pasta sauce, and diced tomatoes to the pot
Add your salt and pepper to taste and garlic powder

Bring to a boil
Pour into your crockpot
Now here’s whats up, if you’re doing this at the beginning of the day, say before you leave for work, put your crockpot on warm.  When you get home stir the mixture, add the tortellini, and put on high for twenty minutes.
If you’re going to eat it within the next four hours or so, go ahead and add the tortellini and keep the crockpot on warm.
I served with a bagged salad and some crunchy Italian bread.  Took all of ten minutes after we got home to have dinner on the table!

So my daughter is the hardest person on the planet to wake up in the morning…and she’s five.  Please don’t tell me what she’ll be like at fifteen, I’m already dreading it.
So in order to make my darling daughter a little less miserable (and slightly more bearable for the rest of us) I have started letting her sleep in later and eat breakfast in the car on the drive to school.  So smart right?
Except yesterday she picked an apple to eat and on the way to school secretly decided she didn’t want it, so she stuck it in the door and went to school thinking she could eat the school breakfast.  Well she did not have time for that, so she tells her teacher she didn’t have breakfast….cue my embarrasment….I promise I feed my kids!
So I asked Kaelin what about school breakfast is so great.  her answer was, grapes, oranges and yogurt!  Challenege accepted little daughter. 
Picture

So I grabbed these handy little containers I purchased from a Pampered Chef party nd made some quick and easy parfaits she can eat in the car!
Breakfast parfaits
Ingredients
Grapes
Mandarin oranges
Blueberries
Strawberries
Greek yogurt (flavored or plain)
So I started with the greek yogurt on bottom, just a spoonfull or two
Next came the oranges (I just used a can I had in the pantry, but you could totally use Cuties or a regular orange)
Then came the strawberries, blueberries, and I topped with grapes.
I topped with grapes because 1. They are her favorite and 2. She can eat them with her fingers and that makes room for mixing up the yogurt with the fruit.

We grabbed one this morning and it was gone by the time we made it to the school.  I think that qualifies as a success!  And I may have eaten one myself this morning 🙂

Leave a Reply

