Putting That Muffin Tin to Work!

Wrapping up our theme of fast and easy dinner I bring you a new twist on an old classic, and some fun sized dessert!
So I don’t know what  the weather has been like where you live, but here it has been gloomy, rainy, and oddly warm.  I can totally handle a day or two of this, but it’s been like five days and my get up and go never even showed up!  I have been kind of putting around doing that bare minimum around the house, but the maximum to justify the 10$ a month for Netflix.
So yesterday time kind of got away from me in the form of a binge on Stranger Things, so i didn’t get to start cooking until the after I had the older two picked up.  However, my daughter was excited we got to spend some time together so it worked out.

When I was a little girl my mother told me meatloaf was brownies.  I, her trusting child, believed her.  I would eat so much meat loaf and beg my mom for “more brownies!”  This led to years of mistrust…just kidding, that was a pretty sneaky idea mother, but I’ve got my own sneaky ways.

Meatloaf Cupcakes
Ingredients
2 pounds ground chuck
1 pound ground sausage (we like country style because it gives it a little kick!)
1 pack of Meatloaf seasoning (That’s right, I just buy the pack.  Don’t you judge me, it tastes delicious)
1 egg
3/4 cup of bread crumbs

Picture

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees
Thoroughly spray a muffin tin with non stick spray
Combine all your ingredients in a bowl and use your hands to mix them all together
Pull out the meat in ball shapes and put them into the muffin cups

Picture

Picture

Picture

Make sure to fill the cups full, meatloaf does not rise, so when they cook they will stay the same height.  Depending on the meat you use they might even shrink up a little.
Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes, depending on your “cupcake” size.
Picture

Picture

I served with mashed potato “icing”, peas, and a Hawaiian roll.  Okay the kids had the icing, Rich and I had our icing on the side 😉
If I were going to make this ahead of time
So depending on your routine these cupcakes can be made and frozen in advance (I’d suggest a disposable tin though, it would take up less space)
Or you can make them in the morning, stick in the fridge, and throw them in the oven when you get home.
As far as the “icing” if you don’t like boxed potatoes but don’t want to take the time to peel the potatoes (They take about 30 minutes start to finish for me if I’m hustling) Ketchup makes an awesome icing.

Who doesn’t love things that are “personal” sized?  I am thinking about starting a small business of making “tiny treats”, so I thought I’d get in a little practice.
Personal Pineapple Upside Down cakes
Ingredients
1 box of yellow cake mix (prepare as directed on box, but replace water with reserved pineapple juice from pineapple slices)
2 cans of pineapple slices
1 jar of marichino cherries (12 halved)
2/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup of melted butter
Picture

Picture

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Spray your muffin tin thoroughly with non-stick spray
Combine melted butter and brown sugar
Divide evenly among 20 muffin cups
So next you are going to take your muffin slices and press them into the cups and onto the mixture.  Heres what happened to me.

Picture

The pineapple slices were too big!  So I had to kind of trim them up.  Once I did that they fit fine.
Once you have your pineapple slices in stick one of your halved cherries sliced side up into the pineapple.
Pour a little less than 1/3 of a cup of the cake mixture on top of your fruit
Bake for 20-25 minutes
Let them cool for five to ten minutes, then slide a fork down the side and they will come right out!
Tiny, adorable, and delicious.  My kids were crazy over these and i sent a couple across the street to the neighbor because they were just too cute not to share!
Picture

Well this concludes our theme of fast week night meals.  I hope you got some good ideas and some yummy new recipes in your rotation!  Enjoy your weekend and I’ll see you Monday!
Leave a Reply

