Soup for Saving

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again- I love soup! I love curling up on a cold day with some good soup and crunchy bread, watching a movie or catch up on some TV.
In the fall and winter I make soup every Saturday. Soup, or stew, or chilli…something along those lines.
I know if it’s Zuppa Tuscana my husband is going to eat it all by the next day, but usually I have enough to freeze for another day. I put my soup in freezer bags, but one day I will own some of those fancy tubs the Pioneer Woman uses….one day.
So this week I made ham and potato soup, but I made it on a Monday instead of a Saturday-I know, I’m a wild woman! But Saturday we were at our friends house grilling and soup didn’t seem like a good contribution. But because I am a stickler when it comes to meal planning I wanted a soup on the menu, and since Monday nights are hectic a crock pot recipe sounded perfect!
Crockpot Ham & Potato Soup
Ingredients
16 oz cubed ham
1 white onion diced
3 stalks of celery chopped
4 carrots diced
4 cups chicken broth
8 cups of diced potatoes (I have used red and golden potatoes. The great thing about golden is that you don’t have to peel them!)
1/2 cup sour cream
1/4 cup flour
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
Picture

Put the ham, celery, carrots, onion, potatoes, and chicken broth into the crock pot.
Cook on low 7-8 hours or high 4-5 hours.
Mash the potatoes still in the crockpot
Add the flour, sour cream, and heavy cream
Cook on high another 15 minutes
I served this with some Hawaiian roll ham sandwiches. Just something easy I could throw together, and they’re pretty yummy.
Picture

We had our fill and then I put the rest in a freezer bag and made sure it was standing up in the freezer. When I am ready to make it again I will simply put the frozen soup in a saucepan and slowly cook it back to soup. It takes about a half an hour.

Leave a Reply

