Craving some Casserole

On Christmas Eve I made a meal for my family all by myself.  There were only going to be six of us so I didn’t make a huge meal, but I did want it to be special.  So I make all of this food, everyone tells me how good it is, and then my husband says…I really like green bean casserole.

I have never eaten green bean casserole in my life.

It looks totally gross to me.

My mom and sister agreed, and my husband says…Green beans are my favorite vegetable.

I’m like…whaaaaaaat?!  How have I been with this man nearly ten years and this is news to me!

But there was no way I was going to be making the green bean casserole I had seen at so many family dinners.  Not that there’s anything wrong with it, I just knew from the list of ingredients it was not for me.

Low and behold I was catching up on some Pioneer Woman and she whips up this green bean casserole that I do believe I can get behind.  So I got all excited (I’m easily excited don’t judge me) and sneak it on the menu.

Everyone loved it!  Even my picky eater gobbled it up!

So without further ado, I bring you a green bean casserole that I will actually eat!

Green Bean Casserole

Ingredientsimg_0074

2 cans of green beans

4 slices of bacon

3 cloves of garlic, pressed

1 diced red bell pepper

1 small onion diced

1/2 stick of butter

4 tbs flour

1/2 cup half and half

pinch of cayenne

1 cup shredded sharp cheddar

French fried onions

salt

pepper


Pre heat the oven to 350

Cut up the bacon and put in a medium sauce pan

Cook for about two minutes

Add the peppers, garlic, and onion.

img_0076

Cook until bacon is done but not crispy about five minutes

In a seperate sauce pan melt the butter

Sprinkle the flour in and whisk

img_0077

Cook for a minute or two and then add the half and half

Continue cooking and whisk constantly

Once the sauce has thickened add the salt, pepper, cayenne. and grated cheese

 

Stir until the cheese melts then remove from the heat.

Add the bacon mixture and stir to combine

Pour in the green beans and gently fold them in

Pour the whole mixture into a baking dish

Top with the french fried onions and bake 25-30 minutes or until the sides are bubbly and onions are crisp

 

Let rest at least ten minutes and serve!

img_0088

8 thoughts on “Craving some Casserole

  1. I have never made green bean casserole because I feel the same way you did. But Ree can make anything look and taste good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

