Church Carry-In

Guess what I did this past Sunday!  Can you guess?  You’re right!  We had a carry in!

I was pretty excited about it because A. I have an awesome church family and B. I wouldn’t have to plan a big meal for home.  Sunday nights at our house are eat-what-you-can-find because Dad’s not home and Mom is exhausted, but I make a big lunch before Richard leaves in an attempt to get him off to a good start…or an early bathroom break…whichever 😜.  So the rules for Sunday night are they have to be able to cook it themselves.  There is a lot of cereal eaten on Sunday nights at my house.

Back to the carry in….

The turn out was great, the tables were full of delicious food and I loved getting to visit with people.


 

I decided to make something a little different than I’ve ever made before, and it must have turned out pretty good because I didn’t have a dish to bring home. 

Broccoli Cauliflower Gratin

Ingredients

1 Head of Broccoli

1 Head of Cauliflower

4 tbs butter

1/4 cup flour

2 cups half and half

2 cups Italian Blend shredded cheese

Salt and pepper

Bread crumbs

Pre heat the oven to 450 degrees

Cut the broccoli and cauliflower into florets

Put them into a greased pan roast them for 10-12 minutes

img_0376

While those are roasting Melt the butter in a medium sauce pan

Whisk in the Flour

Cook the mixture for three minutes

Turn off the heat and add the half and half, turn the heat up to high, whisking the whole time

Add the cheese, salt and pepper

Mix until the cheese has melted

Pour the cheese mixture over the roasted veggies

Sprinkle bread crumbs on top

Put back into a 400 degree oven for 20-30 minutes, until edges are bubbly and top is brown

I’m not going to lie, I was a little nervous about this dish, but oh my goodness it was so good!  Definately something I will add to our rotation.

img_0386
I forgot to get a photo of just the gratin, so here’s my whole delicious plate

So I will admit this carry in came on a very busy weekend for us…it was my sons nineth birthday!

He had a party with his friends the night before so that kind of consumed our weekend, so my fancy from scratch brownies got put on the back burner.

And before you ask no, I did not make that cake, my amazing friend did!  Isn’t she talented!

So sinceI didn’t want to stay up until midnight baking I decided to go with some cookie bars…Lazy Cookie Bars to be exact!  These are seriously so easy the first time I made them I was kind of shocked.

Lazy Cookie Bars

Ingredients

2 eggs slightly beaten

5 tbs melted butter

1 box yellow cake mix

1 12 oz bag semi sweet chocolate chips

Walnuts (optional)


Preheat oven to 350

Melt butter in the microwave

Combine butter, cake mix, and eggs

This will be so thick!  I was pretty glad I had a stand mixer for it!

Fold in the chocolate chips and anything else you want in there (I made one pan of chocolate chips and one of chocolate chips and walnuts)

I want to say pour the batter into a greased dish…but here’s the deal.  There is no pouring this.  It takes all of my strength and balance to get this batter into the dish(es)

It takes a minute to work it out, you can put it all in one 9×13 or make two like I did

Bake for 20-30 minutes or until toothpick comes out with no yellow cake batter.  It will have plenty of melted chocolate on it!

img_9805Cut into bars and serve!

I made a double batch of these so I luckily had some left over…I may have eaten one while I was writing this.

img_9837


That wraps up our week of sides!  I hope you found something you’ll love to add to your rotation.  Let me know if you’ve tried any of my dishes, I always love to hear  how they work out for people!

img_0471

One thought on “Church Carry-In

Leave a Reply

