Crowd Pleasing Baked Beans

I am a country girl at heart.  I spent most of my childhood showing and competeing horses, working fence, and no summer was complete until all the hay was out of the field.  When you grow up in a community like that food is a big part of it!  When you get done in the field or a couple hour trail ride you are hungry.  There are some great cooks in our little circle, and my secret goal is to eventually be one of them.  I’ll admit I have a few years to go and I’m going to have to do some serious investing in cast iron, but for now I’m good with bringing a side dish!

Since it’s winter here there aren’t a whole lot of trail rides or rodeos going on in our neck of the woods, but we did get together with some good friends for a cook out.  Yes, in February.  And it was sixty degrees.  My friends husband wanted to grill out some ribs so I decided these beans would be a great side dish!

Baked Bean Casserole

Ingredientsimg_9808

1 pound ground beef

1 small onion chopped

1 bell pepper chopped

1 can Baked Beans

1/2 cup bbq sauce

2 tbs Dijon Mustard

1/2 cup Ketchup

1 tbs Soy Sauce

2 tbs Worcestershire Sauce

4 tbs Brown Sugar

8 slices of bacon cut into pieces and cooked


Preheat the oven to 350

Brown the beef with the onion and bell pepper in a large sauce pan

img_9810

Add the BBQ sauce, beans, ketchup, mustard, worcestershire, soy sauce, and brown sugar

Simmer for five minutes

img_9811

Transfew the mixture into a greased 9×13 pan

Sprinkle the bacon on top

img_9814

Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 45 minutes

Remove foil and bake another ten minutes

Let rest for 10 minutes before serving!

img_9834


I can’t tell you how seriously delicious these are!  My friend asked for the recipe the next day…after she admitted she finished them straight out of the pan that night!

I hope your week is going fantastic!  See you Friday!img_0471

5 thoughts on “Crowd Pleasing Baked Beans

Leave a Reply

