It’s Gravy Baby!

I am a busy woman!  You probably are too, or a busy man, whatevs. Point is life is not slowing down, and I’m glad you are taking some of your precious time to read my blog!  Thank you!

Last week was my birthday and my friend gave me some goodies for my planner…which led to me subscribing to Planner Addiction Box. 

Side note: Do not forget to type in Planner when looking for this service. Addiction Box in Google takes you to some places….

Anyway!  I was super excited to use them!  Like I literally set aside time to use these cute planner accessories 


So much stuff to do!  But at least it’s fun to look at now!

It also came with this cute little reminder that I stuck to the door for the kids to see before they leave for school. 


And maybe it’s a reminder for me 😜

So since I’m so busy these next few weeks when it came to meal plans I went ahead and added an extra theme day of Breakfast for Dinner Thursday’s…last week I accidentally planned some sort of Mexican food four nights in a row, so I thought maybe throwing another theme in wasn’t a bad idea. 

My first Thursday I went with Biscuits and Gravy…a family favorite and something that doesn’t take a lot of time, and can even be made ahead. 

Full disclosure, I usually use store bought biscuits…but for you all I made some from scratch. Twice. The first time I made discuits. 

Impressed?  😂😂
I rolled them to thin. Don’t do that. 

Buttermilk Biscuits

3 cups of flour 

1 stick chilled butter

5 tsp baking powder

2 tsp salt

1/3 cup powdered milk

1 tbs sugar

2 tsp cream of tartar

1/2 cup shortening

1 – 1 1/2 cups buttermilk 

1/4 cup melted butter 

 

Preheat oven to 450

Combine your flour, salt, sugar, cream of tartar, baking powder, and, powdered milk, and mix well. 


Next take your chilled butter and shortening and work it into the dry mix with a fork, pastry cutter, or your hands 


Slowly fold in the buttermilk until dough comes together 


Roll out the dough to 1/4 inch and cut out the biscuits. Brush tops with melted butter. 

So the first time I made these I put them on a regular cookie sheet and baked them 9-12 minutes. Got the above mentioned discuits. 

Second time I rolled it but then kind of did a drop biscuit thing, I also baked them in cast iron skillets. They maybe weren’t as pretty but they did rise and they had a fluffier texture. 


Sausage Gravy

1 lb breakfast sausage

Flour 

Salt

Pepper

Milk

Brown your sausage in a large skillet

Once it is cooked slowly sprinkle 2tbs of flour into it, pushing the meat around the entire time. 


Slowly add milk, again stirring the whole time. 

Give the mixture a few minutes (around 3-5) and see how thick it’s getting. 

If it’s too thin add more flour slowly, too thick add milk


We like it kind of thick, but it is definitely your choice!

Be sure to add about 1 1/2 tbs salt and plenty of pepper. It also kind of depends on the thickness of the gravy. 


Smother those biscuits you made with that gravy and you’ll have one of the best comfort foods!  

Make it for dinner, make it ahead and freeze it for the week, or enjoy it on a lazy Saturday morning. 

16 thoughts on “It’s Gravy Baby!

  1. I lived in Virginia and West Virginia for awhile and living up in Canada no one really eats biscuits and gravy. But I sure crave them so every once in awhile I gotta eat them! Now I am going to have to make them after seeing this!

    Like

  2. Yum! I just started a diet and so biscuits and gravy are out, but this looks so good. They are so tempting! This is my husband’s favorite meal so I might just have to make some soon.
    -Brittany from GraceLoveLife.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

