Baby Bliss

We had our third and last baby about six months ago. He had a little bit of a rough start so he may be (completely, undoubtedly) spoiled (in every way). 


He fought through his share of battles but is finally healthy and happy, with an easy smile and contagious laugh



Since he is starting baby foods I wanted to make him some special snacks we could take along on our many adventures! 

He still has no teeth…I’m beginning to wonder if he doesn’t have any baby teeth…😜  but I went ahead and made him some teething bars since he loves to stick everything in his mouth. 

Teeth Bars 

Ingredients

1 cup flour

1/2 cup puréed fruit or veggie (I used Apple)

1 tbs olive oil


Preheat oven to 350

Dice up the apple and put it in the blender to purée 


Combine the purée, flour, and olive oil until a dough forms


Lay on a floured surface and roll to 1/4 inch 


Use a pizza cutter to cut into bars and lay on a greased cookie sheet 


They are not particularly beautiful but hey- he’s a baby. 

Bake for 30 minutes, bars should still be slightly doughy but not crumble or bend


The thinner parts got a little crunchy so I trimmed them off. 


He really liked them! I stored them in a plastic bag and they are our favorite snack to take since they are big enough for him to hold them. 

The next snack I made him was an old stand by…yogurt bites!  My other two loved them but I don’t super love the price tag. I feel like I pay a ton and get maybe two snack sessions out of them. So I decided to make my own. 

Yogurt Bites

Ingredients

Puréed yogurt

Coffee filter or cheese cloth


I advise pureeing the yogurt in case there are chunks of the fruit in it. 

Take the coffee filter and put it in a glass


Dump the yogurt into the filter and leave in the fridge for at least two hours and up to overnight. This allows any extra moisture to drain out. 


Put a sheet of wax paper onto a cookie sheet


Pour the yogurt into a sandwich bag and cut off the tip. 


Squirt onto wax paper in little dollops 


Put in the freezer for 15-30 minutes


The thing about these is the older kids can’t get enough of them either…


Luckily it only costs about fifty cents to make two dozen of them 😉


We keep them in a Tupperware container in the fridge. They are perfect for dinner time, they melt in his mouth and he gets to sit at the table with everyone!


17 thoughts on “Baby Bliss

  1. My daughter just had her third baby It was a girl after having two boys. I will be sharing this post with her. She makes all her own baby food so I know will love making the teething bars and yogurt bites.

    Like

  2. I am having my last baby soon and planned to try things i didn’t with my other kids. I think I will try to make the yogurt bites because all of my kids loved those as babies!

    Like

  3. I love this teething bar. I think i am gonna make it for my 7 years old gal..it looks so healthy and delicious. Why didn’t i though of that when she was teething last time. He is definitely a charmer.

    Like

  4. My youngest is 5 but I remember those days of starting foods! My kids loved those yogurt puff things! Wish I would have know how to make my own!

    Like

Leave a Reply

