Prettying Up Pizza

This weekend basketball season ended, it’s a little bitter sweet…but I’m ready for warmer weather and longer days!  To me once I am one month out from Easter I can start bringing out the pretty colored spring decorations, but not until then.

I don’t decorate for Halloween until Oct 1st, and I don’t decorate for Christmas until the Friday after Thanksgiving….to me it’s cheating…I know, it’s weird.

But, the closest holiday coming up is of course St. Patricks Day!  Now I am Irish all year round, my sons name is Cian pronounced the traditional Irish way, my mothers whole side of the family was Catholic up until my grandmothers generation, and  there’s more than one fiery red head in our family.

The one way I really fail at being Irish is…..I can not cook a potato.  I can make mashed potatoes all day every day, but french fries, scalloped potatoes, you name it, they never cook through, or I burn them.  I wonder what Great Grandma Nellie thinks of that…..

We dug out a few green decoratoins today, and Kaelin brought home this hilarious leprachaun hat…

But for dinner we did not go anything even close to Irish…sorry Great Grandma, I may not be able to cook a potato but I refuse to cook animal stomach or livers 😉


Pizza Lasagna Roll UpsFullSizeRender (1)FullSizeRender

Ingredients

9 lasagna noodles

2 cups Ricotta

2 cups mozzerella cheese

1 egg lightly beaten

1 cup parmesean cheese

1/4 cup parsley

pepper

pepperonni

2 cups of pizza sauce

Pizza Sauce Ingredients

1 tbs butter

1 tsp olive oil

2 minced garlic cloves

1/2 a yellow onion diced

28 oz can diced tomatoes

3 oz tomato paste1 tsp basil

1/2 tsp sugar

salt & pepper to taste

To Make The Sauce

In a large pan over medium-high heat heat the butter  and olive oil until the butter is melted

Add the garlic and onion and sautee until translucent

IMG_1413

Add the tomatoes, tomato paste, basil, oregano, and sugar and bring to a boil

IMG_1414

Let the sauce simmer, covered, for fifteen minutes.

Use an immersion blender if you have one (you fancy pants) if not (like me) put the sauce in your blender and puree until smooth.

Once the Sauce is Done…

pre-heat your oven to  degrees

Cook your lasagna noodles, rinse them, then lay them out on a towel.  This is important.  Do it!

img_0845

Combine the beaten egg, Ricotta, 1 cup of mozzerella, 1/2 cup Parmesean, the Pepper, and the Parsley.  Mix until combined.

Spray a 9×13 baking dish with non-stick spray and cover the bottom of the dish with pizza sauce

img_0850

Spread the cheese mixture onto the noodles, lay pepperonis on top of the cheese mixture, and roll up

img_0849

img_0851

Lay them in the dish seam side down

img_0852

Cover with remaining sauce, top with remaining mozzerlla and parmesean cheese, and add more pepperonis

Bake for 20-30 minutes, until cheese is melted and sides are bubbly!

img_0912

img_0471-2img_1340

36 thoughts on “Prettying Up Pizza

  1. This looks great! My fiancé is a pizza addict so I think he would love this. I love that you included a sauce recipe because we don’t really like to use jarred sauces.

    Like

  2. My girls would love this! They love lasagna and love pepperoni, win-win. And I particular about when I put up holiday and seasonal decor too.

    Like

  3. Yum! You had me at pizza, say no more! Hah. I haven’t tried to make a pizza lasagna before but it looks pretty simple. I am going to pin it and give it a try on the family.

    Like

  4. this is a good twist on lasagna. truthfully I have never made lasagna ever. i’m scared to mess it up. but this looks pretty and the pizza look a like might make it more interesting for my kids

    Like

Leave a Reply

