Beautiful Blackberry Pie

There are seriously berries all over my local grocery stores!  Strawberries, raspberries, and blackberries are making the aisles so pretty and colorful. It makes shopping a little more fun for sure, and makes it easier to make better snack choices for the family!

Speaking of fun shopping, we recently took the kids to Build-A-Bear for another Spring break adventure!


The kids were so excited and so meticulous in their choices. 

I had never been there before and I didn’t realize they even stuff the bears! Or ponies, or tigers, or lions….


Then of course we had to give our new friends a bath after they’d been stuffed…


Troy got a Batman Bear he cleverly named…Bat Bear


And Kaelin got a tie-dyed bunny she name Lexi…and they got matching PJs


It was definitely a fun day!  And after dinner we enjoyed a dessert from my fun shopping trip…to the grocery store πŸ˜‰

Blackberry Pie

Ingredients 

Pie crust

3 cups of flour

1 tsp salt

1 1/2 sticks sliced butter

3/4 cup vegetable shortening 

1 tbs white distilled vinegar

1 egg

Filling

8 cups of blackberries

2 cups of sugar

1/4 cup corn starch

2 tbs vanilla
Start with the pie crust

Combine flour and salt in a bowl, then add the shortening and butter and work it into tiny pebbles


Add the vinegar and the egg



Take half the dough and form a disc, put it in a bag and refrigerate if you’re going to use it in the next couple days, or freeze it for later!


Pie Filling

Preheat your oven to 350 

Combine the blackberries and sugar in a large sauce pan and bring them to a boil. This will take a minute or two so don’t panic (like I did πŸ˜‰)


Combine the corn starch with 2 tbs water and add to the fruit. Simmer until thick 


Stir in the vanilla and remove from heat! 

Let this mixture cool while you roll out your dough…and if you’re me randomly decide to try a lattice top….


My pie crusts can be lovingnly described as “rustic”….that’s what I tell my family

Lay your pie crust into a greased 9 inch pie pan and fill it with your berry mixture. 


I don’t know what possessed me to try a lattice top…I could have at least maybe looked up a how-to….or cut my strips more evenly…πŸ˜‚

Anyway….

Brush with your egg wash (1 egg 2 tbs milk)

Bake for 25-35 minutes. Let rest 10 minutes. 


It turned out so good!  When we got home we tossed some pieces in the microwave and put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top!


We had some left over pieces I may have snuck for a pre-breakfast snack before the big kids woke up



6 thoughts on “Beautiful Blackberry Pie

  1. My girls love Build A Bear. It’s a must stop for us every time we go to the mall. And this pie makes me want to go to the store now for some blackberries!

    Like

  2. My kids always snub their noses at fruit pies. They’ll eat fruit on it’s own, but don’t like it in desserts. It makes no sense. I however LOVE fruit pies. I’ll have to give this one a try. If my kids won’t eat it, then…more for me! LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

